2018 CDT Exercise - Demand Management

It is expected that the upcoming 2018 Centres for Doctoral Training (CDT) investment exercise will generate a high demand. To reflect the level of investment available, to manage the impact on the community in assessing the large volume of proposals and to provide institutions as much time as possible to plan, EPSRC is limiting the number of outlines that can be submitted as lead institution. There will be no limit on the number of applications that eligible institutions or non-academic project partners can partner on.

Demand management will not apply beyond the submission of outline proposals. Applicants will be invited to proceed to the full proposal stage based on the assessment of individual outlines against the assessment criteria and the balance of outline proposals across the priority areas and funding streams.

We plan to finalise the content and framework of the call with EPSRC Council.  Subject to their approval, the call will be launched in early 2018 and more information will be provided within the call document.

Institutional allocations

All eligible institutions are welcome to submit one outline application as the lead organisation to the CDT 2018 call, with no restriction on applications as a partner.

The organisations listed below have been informed that they are able to submit more than one outline application as lead organisation and following consideration of both their EPSRC research income and their staff capacity in engineering and physical sciences areas. Allocations are given on a per institution basis and it is up those organisations to consider how best to utilise it. EPSRC will not accept submissions over and above this. Institutions do not need to fully utilise their allocation.

The institutions below will also be asked to supply EPSRC with details of the outline applications submitted within their allocation. Further information on this requirement will be provided within the call documentation.

  • Aston University
  • Brunel University London
  • Cardiff University
  • City, University of London
  • Cranfield University
  • Durham University
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • Imperial College London
  • King's College London
  • Lancaster University
  • Loughborough University
  • Newcastle University
  • Northumbria University
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Queen's University of Belfast
  • Royal Holloway, Univ of London
  • Swansea University
  • The University of Manchester
  • University College London
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Bath
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Brighton
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Dundee
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Kent
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Reading
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Sussex
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York