Home > News, events and publications > News > 2012 > UK ICT Pioneers 2012 Competition - Finalists announced

UK ICT Pioneers 2012 Competition - Finalists announced

Issue date:
22 November 2012
Press release 
Digital economy, ICT
ICT Pioneers: be the future of Information and Communications Technology

The twelve finalists in a prestigious national competition for pioneering ICT researchers were announced today.

The UK ICT Pioneers 2012 competition is organised by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and was open to all second and third year UK postgraduate research students in ICT-related subjects. It has four categories, offering cash prizes of £2,000.

The final takes place at The Sheraton Park Lane Hotel, London, on Wednesday 28th November 2012, where finalists will showcase their work during the day and category winners will go on to battle it out in a Dragon’s Den format before a panel of judges to win a bonus prize of £1,000.

The researchers come from across the UK, and are based at eleven of the country’s research intensive universities, and are among the most innovative researchers in the field. The categories are:

  • Technology Everywhere
  • Connected World
  • Transforming Society
  • Information Overload

The finalists are:

Technology Everywhere

  • Philip Dolan – University of Oxford
  • Peiman Hosseini – University of Exeter
  • Joaquin M. Navajas Ahumada – University of Leicester

Connected World

  • Nabil Romero Zurita – University of Leeds
  • Kapil Debnath – University of St Andrews
  • Sadeghi Mohammadreza – University of Manchester

Transforming Society

  • Anand Sengodan – University of Glasgow
  • Dominik Cirmirakis – University College London
  • Hsin-Yu Wei – University of Bath

Information Overload

  • Frieder Ganz – University of Surrey
  • Mattias Heinrich – University of Oxford
  • David Beesley – Imperial College London

The 2012 competition is being sponsored and supported by: BCS, HP, EPSRC, Imagination Technologies, ARM, the Institution of Engineering and Technology, BT and the BBC.

Last year’s winner of the Connected World category, Dr Sabesan, at the University of Cambridge, said: “Winning the award has benefited us enormously. The competition provided a focus for our research on the invention and, as a direct result, we were able to create PervasID Ltd, a Cambridge University spin-out to exploit our invention commercially. Winning this prestigious award has enabled us to extend our research and attract investors, customers and partners around the world. We believe that the ICT Pioneers Award will act as a springboard to our company's future success”.

Notes to editors:

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) is the UK’s main agency for funding research in engineering and the physical sciences. EPSRC invests around £800 million a year in research and postgraduate training, to help the nation handle the next generation of technological change. The areas covered range from information technology to structural engineering, and mathematics to materials science. This research forms the basis for future economic development in the UK and improvements for everyone’s health, lifestyle and culture. EPSRC works alongside other Research Councils with responsibility for other areas of research. The Research Councils work collectively on issues of common concern via Research Councils UK.

ICT-related subjects

ICT-related subjects include, but are not restricted to, Electronics, Communications, Computer Science and Human-Computer Interfaces and Photonics.

Reference: PN 87-12


For media enquiries only contact:

Richard Tibenham at the EPSRC Press Office, tel: 01793 444 404