Home > Funding > Calls > 2012 > Core Capability for Chemistry Research

Core Capability for Chemistry Research

Issue date:
11 Oct 2012
Closing date:
16:00 on 08 November 2012
Call status:
Invitation for proposals 
Physical sciences

Proposals are invited for short term institutional bids to build research capability in the form of an open distributed network of infrastructure, to underpin research within Chemistry Departments in UK Universities.

Funding of up to £15m is available for research capital grants to increase the strength and productivity of the research base reliant on chemistry as a discipline by investing in four main types of experimental techniques:  Mass Spectrometry, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR), X-ray Diffraction and Atomic level Microscopy. 

Only Chemistry Departments who have attracted over £10m in total of EPSRC-funded research between 1 April 2007 and 30 September 2012 are invited to apply.  A list of eligible institutions can be found in the table below.   Only one application per university will be permitted, whether it be an individual application, or part of a collaborative bid.  Institutions that fall outside the eligibility criterion are permitted to apply only in collaboration with an eligible institution.  Individual grants are expected to be in the region £1m for the Research Council contribution. These short term grants must be completed by the 31st March 2013. No extensions will be allowed.

Due to time constraints, proposals are to be submitted using a free text document (using standard Je-S font and margins) and be no longer that 6 pages in length.  In additional, please attach a financial summary request using draft Je-S form and your Institutional Statement, Justification of Resources, Project Plan and Impact Statement.  You should prepare and submit your proposal by email to PhysicalSciences@epsrc.ac.uk

The call closes at 16.00 on the 8 November 2012. Up to £15m is available for the call. The duration of the grant will be for up to 3 months starting on the 01 January 2013.

List of eligible institutions
Cardiff University University of Liverpool
Durham University University College London
Imperial College London University of Nottingham
The University of Manchester University of Oxford
University of Bath University of Sheffield
University of Birmingham University of Southampton
University of Bristol University of St Andrews
University of Cambridge University of Strathclyde
University of Edinburgh University of York
University of Glasgow University of Warwick
University of Leeds